Main Menu

The Journey of Library & Information Science

2017: Innovation, New Responsibility

Mphil and PhD programmes have been introduced for the first time with two Mphil and Four PhD incumbents in the Departmen.

2017: The Third in Command

Mr Mayukh Biswas joined as the third full-time faculty in the Departmen.

2012: The Second in Command

Dr. Tapan Barui joined as the second full-time faculty in the Departmen.

2005: The new Course; New Responsibility

Masters in Library and Information Science course of one year (two-semester) was introduced.

2001: Recycle

Saptarshi Ghosh joined the Department as a full-time teacher in February 2001.

2000: The Relative Void

Dr. Biswajit De left the Department and rejoined in his previous post.

1998: The First Faculty Onboard

Dr. Biswajit De joined as the first full time faculty in the Department.

1992: The Pioneer Passed Away

Death of Dr. Ajay Ranjan Chakraborty and the department was being looked after by the officers in the Central Library. Dr. Dilip Roy, Dr. Ladly Roy and Dr. Jyotirmoy Roy from the Central Library along with Mr. Monoj Kumar Roy, Mr. Brindaban Karmar and Mr. Jyotirindramohon Mazumder, Documentation Officer, CHS played the pivotal role in shaping the department.

1990-91 : The Inception

Establishment of the Department of LIS under the leadership of Dr. Ajay Ranjan Chakraborty, evening shift BLIS course in the Humanities Building.